Trustees & Meetings


CURTIS, Sir Toby (Chairman)

Toby is widely acknowledged for his innovative achievements in education. His cumulative expertise in Maori, polytechnic and university fields was achieved through his various roles as principal, lecturer, researcher, administrator and ultimately, as a senior academic in tertiary education. Toby is the inaugural Chairperson for Te Arawa Lakes Trust.  Contact phone: (027) 224 6082.  Email:

EMERY, William

EMERY, William

William (Willie) was a past member of the Te Arawa Maori Trust Board 1985 – 2007 and past chairman of Te Runanga o Ngati Pikiao, Te Papa Takaro o Te Arawa and Te Kotahitanga o Te Arawa Fisheries.
Willie is semi retired and is passionate in serving his iwi/hapu to ensure lands, resources, finances are utilised to protect and grow the assets of Te Arawa to benefit Te Arawa.  Contact phone: (027) 224 6081. Email:

MEHA, Raina

Raina’s career spans extensive central government policy experience after studying at Waikato University and Victoria University.  Riana currently works for Bay of Plenty Regional Council and understand the importance of tangata whenua participating in regulatory and decision-making process.  She believes water quality, collaboration and ancestral relationship of Te Arawa with the lakes, and paramount in preserving and protecting our lakes for present and future generations. Contact Phone: 021 172 5099


Emery, Denise

EMERY, Denise

Denise has worked most of her adult life for Maori authorities, including nine year tenure with Te Arawa Trust Board and now with Te Puia| NZ Maori Arts and Crafts Institute, where she sits on the Executive team as the Human Resource Manager.  Denise has a Bachelor of Applied Management in Human Resource Management. Contact Phone: 027 570 4048, Email:

Maika, Huru



Huru is currently the Tuhourangi Trustee on Te Kotahitangi o Te Arawa Waka Fisheries Trust Board. He has a passion for Tuhourangi and Whakarewarewa, listing his personal interests as waiata, kapa haka, raranga, whanau and whaikorero as well as supporting Tuhourangi paepae. Huru is a fulltime tour guide. Contact phone: (027) 6832665. Email:

Ngawhika, Lana

NGAWHIKA, Lana (Deputy Chairperson)

Lana has extensive experience working with Iwi, including a 7-year tenure with Te Arawa Maori Trust Board during the Te Arawa Lakes Settlement negotiations.  Lana is newly appointed to the Tuhourangi Tribal Authority, Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa, and the Rotorua Police Maori Advisory Board.  Lana is a Maori Liaison Officer with the NZ Fire Service. Contact phone: (027) 471 5008. Email:


Douglas, Zalene


Zalene has worked for Maori affairs in Wellington then the district Court for 20 years.  Zalene now Works for Rotorua District Community Law Centre as a lawyer and has been for the past 10 years.  Zalene completed a Diploma of Maori Governance and leadership with TWOA.  Zalene believes the work of the trustees is to ensure that trust property words for and provides the most benefit to our beneficiaries.  Phone Contact: 021 738 340 Email:

Rolleston, Geoff


Geoff served on a number of board positions including Western Bay Health Ltd, Ranginui 12 Trust , Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust and a Director on Ngati Whakaue Farming Ltd.  Geoff brings to this role a wide experience of serving both Iwi and the community.  Geoff is committed to quality education for our people and believes that our organisations should provide social benefits that raise Maori with our community.  Contact Phone: 021 285 6385 Email:



Terry is an engineering contractor by trade and has firsthand knowledge of the whenua and the moana. Most of his life has been spent fishing, rama koura, hi tuna, hi inanga and hunting with his father on and around our lakes. Terry is dedicated to working alongside other governances and the wider community and ensures the good quality governance of the Trust and accountability to the Iwi.  Contact phone number: (027) 6074773.  Email:




Te Arawa Lakes Trust Board 2016 Meeting Dates:

22 February

29 March

26 April

23 May

27 June

25 July

22 August

26 September

25 October

28 November

19 December